top of page

Millennial Alzheimer’s Caregiver: Meet Kaisha Weeks

Millennial Alzheimer’s Caregiver: Meet Kaisha Weeks

// “In 2015, I decided to quit my job and help my mom and aunt out, by moving in with both my grandparents. I seen the struggle and weight of them trying to care for my grandma and grandpa. My grandfather was the initial caregiver for my grandmother since 2011, when she was diagnosed, until my grandfather took ill in 2015 and it became too much on him. His health declined quickly. Just a year ago my grandfather passed away and his request was that we make sure we take care of his wife. Losing him was a huge lose to our family, but we made sure that we honored his request. My mom moved my grandma in and I began to handle the night shifts. I found that in this experience LOVE is the best gift you can give them to sustain and to keep going. But also, Love is what keeps the caregiver fueled to continue to press on. There are more days you feel like its too hard and why this, but then the LOVE just over compensates and it washes away your moment of weakness. My grandmother deserves the best care my aunt , mom and myself have been giving her, as my grandmother would have done the exact same thing for anyone of us. She was and still is a beautiful soul, inside and out. We are beyond blessed to have the opportunity to care for her in my mom's house, as it's truly difficult at times and overwhelming, but we know that we can sleep peacefully at night knowing she's being taken good care of and watched over with gentleness and TONS OF LOVE 💜💜 // ⚪️💜⚪️ #endalz #YouthAgainstAlz #12DaysOfCaregiving


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page